Taliban Escape! One Woman’s Journey Out of Hell – Aabra

Standard
“Too big,” she said, looking at my breasts. “Too much. Make men burn. We have straps to make flat. You want?”
Now it was my turn to frown. “No. I don’t want to be flat. This is me. This is how the good Lord made me.”
The woman shook her head and sighed. “Not good for men.”
Sufa nodded. “I know it sounds old fashioned but women here are required to dress like that to protect them from the lustful looks of men.”
I glanced at the Land Rover’s side windows and was glad to see they were very dark. I pushed the hood-like covering off my head and pulled some of the material away from my throat.
“What’s wrong with your men?” I said sarcastically. “Can’t they control their emotions?” Patiently, Sufa said, “It’s part of our religious heritage. Women should not attract attention to themselves in any way. Even the Koran says that. Women should guard their modesty and should not display their beauty.”
When I woke up again the sun was slicing through my eyes like a sharp but rusty knife.

 

Leave a Reply

