Dying to be Me – Anita Moorjani

Standard

8727d-dying2bto2bbe2bme

I believe that my cancer was related to my self-identity, and it feels as though it was my body’s way of telling me that my soul was grieving for the loss of its own worth—of its identity.

AS I SAID, THE MOST FREQUENT QUESTION people ask me is why I think I got cancer. I can sum up the answer in one word: fear.

What was I afraid of? Just about everything, including failing, being disliked, letting people down, and not being good enough. I also feared illness, cancer in particular, as well as the treatment for cancer. I was afraid of living, and I was terrified of dying.

Fear is very subtle, and it can creep up gradually without our even noticing it. Looking back, I see that most of us are taught from a very young age to be afraid, although I don’t believe we’re born this way.

Leave a Reply

