The Help – Kathryn Stockett

Standard

That was the day my whole world went black. Air look black, sun look black. I laid up in bed and stared at the black walls a my house. Minny came ever day to make sure I was still breathing, feed me food to keep me living. Took three months fore I even look out the window, see if the world still there. I was surprise to see the world didn’t stop just cause my boy did.

I’m down on my hands and knees. Pretty soon my head’s so far in that oven I look like I’m trying to gas myself.

She got a confused, disgusted look on her face, like she done salted her coffee instead a sugared it.

…Miss Skeeter asking don’t I want to change things, like changing Jackson, Mississippi, gone be like changing a lightbulb.

But the colored part a town, we one big anthill, surrounded by state land that ain’t for sale. As our numbers get bigger, we can’t spead out. Our part a town just gets thicker.

He’s wearing a smile look like it’s made out a rubber.

It’s something about that word truth. I’ve been trying to tell white women the truth about working for them since I was fourteen years old.

Truth.
It feels cool, like water washing over my sticky-hot body. Cooling a heat that’s been burning me up all my life.

Leave a Reply

