The Veiled Kingdom – Carmen Bin Ladin

Standard

the veiled kingdom

During the years I lived among the Bin Laden family in Saudi Arabia, Osama came to exemplify everything that repelled me in that opaque and harsh country: the unbending dogma that ruled all our lives, the arrogance and pridefulness of Saudis and their lack of compassion for people who didn’t share their beliefs. That contempt for outsiders and unyielding orthodoxy spurred me on to a fourteen-year fight to give my children a life in the free world.

I suppose this was the first time I realized that someone could pay for their beliefs with their life.

Leave a Reply

