The Mistress of Spices – Chitra Banerjee Divakaruni

Standard

“Sometimes I wonder if there is such a thing as reality, an objective and untouched nature of being. Or if all that we encounter has already been changed by what we had imagined it to be. If we have dreamed it into being.”

“I held her because that was what one was supposed to do, but inside I felt disconnected, totally seperate, like someone had taken a giant cleaver and chopped off all ties between me and her -no, between me and the whole human race.”
“Now the sun hangs low over the Pacific, a giant-burnt orange gulabjamun for the waves to lick at.”
“I Tilo of whom the Old One once said that the parrot, bird of memory, must live in my throat.”
“Stop Tilo, don’t create snakes out of ropes.”
Hai mataji, once milk has curdled can all the sugar in the world turn it sweet again?”
“Daksha here is seed of black pepper to be boiled whole and drunk to loosen your throat so you can learn to say No, that word so hard for Indian women. No and Hear me now.”
“The rich Indians rarely speak, as if too much money has clogged their throats.”
Leave a Reply

